SMU QB Padron Named To Watch List For 2011 Davey O’Brien Award

FT. WORTH (SMU) – SMU junior Kyle Padron has been named to the Watch List for the 2011 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced today.

Padron, from Southlake, started all 14 games last season and was named All-Conference USA honorable mention. He notched SMU records in passing yards (3,828), total yards (4,072), touchdowns (31), completions (302) and attempts (508) and passed for over 300 yards on six occasions.

This continues a string of Mustangs on pre-season award Watch Lists. So far, Kelvin Beachum, Ja’Gared Davis, Taylor Reed and Taylor Thompson have been named to the Official Watch List for the 2011 Rotary Lombardi Award, Beachum has been named to the Outland List, Thompson has made the Nagurski Award List, Cole Beasley and Darius Johnson were named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, Line was named to the Watch List for the Maxwell and Doak Walker Awards, Thompson And Margus Hunt were selected to the Pony Express Award Watch List and Blake McJunkin was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List.

For season tickets for SMU Football, log on to Season ticket packages start as low as $72.

This year’s list, which was compiled by a subset of The O’Brien National Selection Committee, features 38 of the nation’s top collegiate quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2011 college football season.

Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 24. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21. The 2011 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 8.

The 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.