SMU Receivers Named to Biletnikoff Watch List

DALLAS – SMU receivers Cole Beasley and Darius Johnson are among 75 receivers who have been named to the Watch List for the Biletnikoff Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s outstanding college football receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.

Beasley, a native of Little Elm, started all 14 games at receiver in 2011 and earned second-team All-Conference USA accolades. He caught 87 passes and totaled 1,060 receiving yards, scoring six touchdowns on the season.

Johnson had 78 receptions for 845 yards and six touchdowns in 2011. The Missouri City native had a season-high 152 receiving yards in the Armed Forces Bowl and was named Team MVP for the Bowl.

In all, Beasley and Johnson combined for 165 receptions in 2011, a single-season tandem record.

SMU was one of just seven schools with multiple nominees (Arkansas (4), Alabama (3), Duke (2), Oklahoma (2), Oklahoma State (2), SMU (2) and Texas A&M (2)).