U.S. Men’s Clay Court Championship Begins Monday

{fshare id=3675}

HOUSTON – Two more marquee matches have been announced as part of the preliminary schedule for the 2013 US Men’s Clay Court Championship at River Oaks Country Club. Four-time doubles champions The Bryan Brothers will begin their tournament on Wednesday during the day session, while that night the No. 2 seed Tommy Haas will play his first singles match of the week.

Here is the intended order of play for select matches, which is subject to change, with the precise schedule of these matches to be announced the day before.


Stadium Court – 12 pm Start

Robby Ginepri (USA) vs [5] Peter Polansky (Canada) – qualifying

[WC] Rhyne Williams (USA) vs Guido Pella (Argentina)

Nicholas Monroe (USA) & Simon Stadler (Germany) vs Jamie Murray (Great Britain) & John Peers (Australia)

Not before 6 pm

Gael Monfils (France) vs James Blake (USA)

Josselin Ouanna (France) vs Tim Smyczek (USA)

Court 3 – 12 om Start

[1] Ivo Karlovic (Croatia) vs Gerald Melzer (Austria) – qualifying

[4] Bradley Klahn (USA) vs Luka Gregorc (Slovenia) – qualifying

Court 7 – 12 pm Start

[3] Teymuraz Gabashvili (Russia) vs [6] Facundo Arguello (Argentina) – qualifying

TUESDAY DAY SESSION – Michael Russell vs Qualifier; Jack Sock vs Qualifier

TUESDAY NIGHT SESSION – Fernando Verdasco vs Steve Johnson; John Isner vs Ryan Harrison

WEDNESDAY DAY SESSION – Lleyton Hewitt vs Martin Alund; Bryan Brothers vs Marach & Sa

WEDNESDAY NIGHT SESSION – Nicolas Almagro vs winner of Blake-Monfils; Tommy Haas vs winner of Ricardis Berankis-Jesse Levine

THURSDAY (session to be determind) – Juan Monaco vs winner of Josselin Ouanna-Tim Smyzcek; Sam Querrey vs winner of Rhyne Williams-Guido Pella

Day sessions will begin at 12 p.m., while night sessions will begin at 6 p.m. during the upcoming week.

Here is a look at Sunday’s qualifying results and the full order of play for Monday.


Qualifying – Second Round

[1] Ivo Karlovic (Croatia) d Florin Mergea (Romania) 64 63

Robby Ginepri (USA) d [2] Mischa Zverev (Germany) 62 46 62

[3] Teymuraz Gabashvili (Russia) d Takanyi Garanganga (Zimbabwe) 62 76

[4] Bradley Klahn (USA) d Greg Ouellette (USA) 76 64

[5] Peter Polansky (Canada) d Frank Moser (Germany) 76 76

[6] Facundo Arguello (Argentina) d Chris Wettengel (USA) 63 62

Gerald Melzer (Austra) d Roman Borvanov (Moldova) 57 76 61

Luka Gregorc (Slovenia) d John Peers (Australia) 64 64