Broyles Award Announces 2018 Nominees

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – [November 7, 2018] – The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2018 Broyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coaches. 
The 53 nominees in this year’s class were selected from approximately 1,500 assistant coaches representing 130 Division One programs across the country. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), a college football hall-of-fame selection committee and current college head coaches.
The nominees include:
Alabama – Michael Locksley, Offensive Coordinator
Alabama Birmingham – David Reeves, Defensive Coordinator
Appalachian State – Bryan Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Cornerbacks
Arizona State – Danny Gonzales, Defensive Coordinator
Arkansas State – Norval McKenzie, Special Teams Coordinator/Running Backs
Army – Jay Bateman, Defensive Coordinator
Auburn – Larry Porter, Special Teams Coordinator
Boise State – Zak Hill, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Brigham Young – Ed Lamb, Special Teams Coordinator/Linebackers
Buffalo – Brian Borland, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
California – Tim DeRuyter, Defensive Coordinator/Outside Linebackers
Central Florida – Glen Elarbee, Offensive Line
Cincinnati – Marcus Freeman, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Clemson – Jeff Scott, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers
Coastal Carolina – Jamey Chadwell, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Duke – Matt Guerrieri, Co-Defensive Coordinator
Eastern Michigan – Neal Neathery, Assistant Head Coach/Defensive Coordinator
Fresno State – Bert Watts, Defensive Coordinator
Georgia – Sam Pittman, Offensive Line
Georgia Southern – Scot Sloan, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
Houston – Kendal Briles, Offensive Coordinator/Quaterbacks
Indiana – Mike Hart, Assistant Head Coach/Running Backs
Iowa – Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary
Iowa State – Tyson Veidt, Assistant Head Coach/Linebackers
Kentucky – Matt House, Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers
Louisiana State – Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator
Memphis – Ryan Silverfield, Offensive Line/Run Game Coordinator
Miami – Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Michigan – Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator
Michigan State – Mike Tressel, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Mississippi State – Bob Shoop, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
Missouri – Brick Haley, Defensive Line
Nebraska – Mario Verduzco, Quarterbacks
North Carolina State – Eliah Drinkwitz, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
North Texas – Graham Harrell, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Northwestern – Mike Hankwitz, Defensive Coordinator
Notre Dame – Chip Long, Offensive Coordinator
Ohio State – Ryan Day, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Oklahoma – Bill Bedenbaugh, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Southern Methodist – Kevin Kane, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
South Carolina – Eric Wolford, Offensive Line
Syracuse – Justin Lustig, Special Teams Coordinator/Wide Receivers
Temple – Chris Wiesehan, Offensive Line/Run Game Coordinator
Texas Tech – Adam Scheier, Special Teams Coordinator
Toledo – Robby Discher, Special Teams Coordinator/Tight Ends
Troy – Bam Hardmon, Inside Linebackers
USC – Johnny Nansen, Assistant Head Coach/Recruiting Coordinator
Utah – Morgan Scalley, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
Utah State – David Yost, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Wake Forest – Kevin Higgins, Assistant Head Coach/Wide Receivers
Washington State – Tracy Claeys, Defensive Coordinator
West Virginia – Jake Spavital, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Wisconsin – Joe Rudolph, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
An 19-member selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, along with a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semi-finalists and five finalists from the list of nominees and an overall winner. Those finalists will be invited to travel to Little Rock, Ark. where the 2018 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 4th at the Marriott Hotel.
The winner of the 2018 Broyles Award was Tony Elliott, co-offensive coordinator and running backs coach at Clemson. Winners from the past five seasons are not eligible to be nominated for the Broyles Award. 
This year marks the third time the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation has presented the award. Proceeds from the 2018 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide education, support, and resources to Alzheimer’s caregivers. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on Facebook and Twitter.

Share and Enjoy !

0 0 0