January 10, 2011 (Dallas, Texas) – A “Who’s Who” of College Football leaders, business people and other celebrities have come together today to announce the establishment of the College Football Assistance Fund.

The College Football Assistance Fund (CFAF) is a non-profit tax exempt organization dedicated to the support of football players who have sustained serious injuries through college football. Assistance will be provided to ease the burden of medical costs associated with injuries such as joint replacement, spine treatment, neurological care and other related expenses.

The concept of CFAF was inspired after the spinal cord injury suffered by Rutgers football player Eric LeGrand by a group of college coaches and athletic administrators concerned about the limited resources available to injured football players and their families.

“It is our hope that the CFAF will provide much needed support to these young men who suffer life changing injuries through playing college football,” said June Jones, SMU Head Football

Coach and CFAF Board Member. “The costs associated with these injuries goes way beyond what is usually covered by health insurance. It is our objective to ease the financial burden.”

Members of the CFAF Advisory Committee include:

  • David Bailiff (Head Football Coach, Rice University)
  • Bob Beaudine (Author, “The Power of Who” & CEO, Eastman & Beaudine)
  • Brad Brookshire (Chairman, Brookshire Grocery Company)
  • Troy Calhoun (Head Football Coach, U.S. Air Force Academy)
  • Fisher DeBerry (Past AFCA President and former College Football Head Coach)
  • Chris Del Conte  (Athletics Director, TCU)
  • Larry Fedora (Head Football Coach, University of Southern Mississippi)
  • Jeff D. Fehlis (Director of Sales & Marketing, American Airlines)
  • Dennis Franchione (Former College Football Head Coach)
  • Todd Graham (Head College Football Coach, Tulsa)
  • James “Shack” Harris (NFL Executive & former NFL Pro Bowl Quarterback)
  • Kathleen Hessert (CEO, Buzz Manager, Inc.)
  • Kirby Hocutt  (Athletics Director, University of Miami)
  • Paul Johnson (Head Football Coach, Georgia Tech)
  • June Jones  (Head Football Coach, SMU)
  • Stephen Jones (Executive VP & COO, Dallas Cowboys)
  • George Killebrew (Senior Vice-President, Dallas Mavericks)
  • Paul B. Loyd, Jr. (Chairman, Penloyd Holdings)
  • Donna Lucas (CEO & President, Lucas Public Affairs)
  • Warren Moon (NFL Hall of Fame Quarterback)
  • Kenny Niumatolo (Head Football Coach, U.S. Naval Academy)
  • Houston Nutt (Head Football Coach, Mississippi)
  • Steve Orsini (Athletics Director, SMU)
  • T. Boone Pickens (Legendary Businessman)
  • John Priore (CEO, Priority Payment Systems)
  • Dr. Jerry Punch (Physician & ESPN Broadcaster)
  • Dr. John W. Ryan (Past NCAA Chairman, President Emeritus of Indiana University)
  • Rudy Ruettiger (Notre Dame Legend & inspiration for the blockbuster movie “Rudy”)
  • Mark Steines, (Anchor, Entertainment Tonight)
  • Jeff Staubach (Executive Vice-President Jones Lang LaSalle)
  • Dick Tomey (Past AFCA President and Former College Football Head Coach)
  • Walter Umphrey (Attorney, Provost Umphrey Law Firm)
  • Mike Wade (VP, AdvoCare International)
  • Doug Williams (Super Bowl XXII MVP Quarterback)
  • Bob Wilson (President, Wilson Air Center, LLC and Executive VP, Kemmons Wilson, Inc.)

“I am thrilled to be a part of the CFAF and applaud all who are part of the Advisory Committee to help assist in this unimaginable hardship,” said Troy Calhoun Head Football Coach, United States Air Force Academy.