College Football Playoff Extends Partnership With Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic

ARLINGTON, July 13, 2018 – The College Football Playoff announced today they have exercised a six-year option to keep the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic as part of college football’s postseason playoff system through at least the 2025-26 season.

The Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic is entering its fifth year as a member of the New Year’s Six as part of the College Football Playoff. The Classic will continue to host one of the CFP Semifinals in rotation every three years along with the Orange, Sugar, Rose, Fiesta, and Peach Bowl.

“The College Football Playoff has helped to elevate the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic on a national stage,” Carl Ice, Cotton Bowl Athletic Association Chairman said. “We are thrilled to know the Classic will continue to be a part of the semifinal rotation and remain in the top tier of postseason college football well into the next decade.”

The Goodyear Cotton Bowl will host the CFP Semifinal this upcoming season on Saturday December 29th, guaranteeing a matchup of No. 1 vs. No. 4 or No. 2 vs. No. 3 in the Classic at AT&T Stadium. The kickoff time will be announced as part of the CFP Selection Show on ESPN on Sunday, Dec. 2nd. This year’s game will make the second semifinal hosted by the Classic. Alabama won the first College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic in convincing fashion, defeating Michigan State, 38-0, en route to winning the 2016 CFP National Championship.

“We have enjoyed a special partnership with the College Football Playoff dating back to AT&T Stadium serving as host to the first College Football Playoff National Championship in 2015,” Rick Baker, Cotton Bowl Athletic Association President/CEO said. “Bill Hancock and his staff have done a tremendous job building the CFP brand from the ground up. We are elated to know the best in postseason college football will continue to come through North Texas for years to come.”

In the years the Classic is not hosting a semifinal, the game will continue to host a battle of Top-10 teams as assigned by the College Football Playoff Selection Committee. Since the inception of the College Football Playoff in 2015, the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic has played host to at-large teams from the Big 12, Big Ten, SEC, Pac-12 and Mid-American Conference.

Share and Enjoy !