Jimmy Johnson and Darren Woodson Among Pro Football Hall of Fame Semifinalists

Jimmy Johnson and Darren Woodson were among the 25 modern-era semifinalists Pro Football Hall of Fame unveiled the list for the Class of 2019 on Tuesday.

Johnson spent five years with the Dallas Cowboys (1989-93), leading America’s Team from 1-15 in his first year to back-to-back Super Bowl titles.

He also coached the Miami Dolphins from 1996-99 and is currently a studio analyst for FOX NFL Sunday. This is Johnson’s sixth time to advance to be a semifinalist.

Woodson played his entire career (1992-2004) with the Cowboys and won three Super Bowl rings in his first four years in the NFL. He was the eighth defensive player inducted into the Dallas Cowboys Ring of Honor at AT&T Stadium in a ceremony that took place on Nov. 1, 2015.

Of note, he was the only Cowboys player to play under both Johnson and Bill Parcells. Woodson is currently an NFL analyst for ESPN. He is a semifinalist for the third time.

Zach Thomas is best known for his time with the Dolphins, but did suit up for the Cowboys in 2008. He is a semifinalist for the first time.

Cornerback Champ Bailey, tight end Tony Gonzalez and safety Ed Reed are the three semifinalists who are in their first year of eligibility.

The 15 finalists will be revealed in January with the inductees unveiled during Super Bowl LIII week in Atlanta.