CMRA Endurance Results From Eagles Canyon

{fshare id=5265}

The Excel EMR team of Conner Blevins and Dustin Meador, rode their Dunlop-shod Kawasaki ZX636 to victory again at the Central Motorcycle Roadracing Association’s (CMRA) 6 Hour Championship Endurance race this past Saturday, June 14, 2014. CMRA held its fourth round of Championship Endurance, fifth round Mini and Lightweight sprints, and second round of Solo 30 races, bringing over 10 hours of racing action to Eagles Canyon Raceway in Decatur, Texas. The weather was cloyingly hot and humid, with very little breeze to disperse the heat, however, lap times remained fast on both the 1.7 mile short and 2.5 mile long full course.

The Mini and Lightweight sprint grids ran first and were a great warm up for round two of the Solo 30 races. The new 300 Supersport, 500 Supersport (both sponsored by Altus Lawton Motorsports), and

the Four81Motos-sponsored Grom Challenge classes continued to gain in popularity. Two rounds of the Rainbow Sox Racing – Junior Motard class kept the 8-12 year olds suited up and ready to race all morning.

The 6 Hour Championship Endurance race had a combined grid of 30 teams, with classes including A Superbike, C Superbike, Formula 2, and Modern Classic Endurance. When the starting lights went out on the 2 wave start, Excel EMR, and the Yamaha YZF-R6 mounted Village Idiots, and LocoMotion teams immediately took command of the race, holding down the top three spots for the entire race. The Lone Star Track Day team of Brandon Altmeyer, Andy Galindo, Mark Niemi and Eric Williams shook the mechanical gremlins of earlier races off their Kawasaki ZX636 and got on the tail of the third place LocoMotion team of Alonzo Contreras, Ryan Max Johnson, Matt Vastine and Mark Windham, holding onto fourth for the entire race as well. The Suzuki GSX-R750 mounted Howlie Boyz team of Jason Swan, Dean Thimjon, and Brent Wood had their hands full with the Kawasaki ZX-6R mounted LSTD II team of Jesse Davis, Nick Doolan, Will Gruy, Wyatt Sperry, and David Tiede as these two would battle back and forth for fifth and sixth overall the entire race.

The racing was fierce as the race leaders went at it, with Excel EMR holding off the Village Idiots team of Brandon Cleland, Chris Headley, John Orchard, and Garet Tomlinson, and their pursuit of each other stretched out a one lap lead over the rest of the field. Suddenly the Excel EMR team crashed in Turn one, but was able to make it back into the pits as the Village Idiots took over the lead. The Excel EMR team repaired the bike and made it back out, chasing the Village Idiots down. As Excel EMR retook the lead, the Village Idiots also went down in Turn One, but were able to get the bike back into the pits as LocoMotion took over second place. The Village Idiots repaired their bike, got back out and overtook LocoMotion, gaining second place back, but were now one lap behind Excel EMR heading into the last hour of the race.

As the race clock wound down, the Village Idiots bore down on Excel EMR, narrowing the gap to a mere 20.137 seconds between them, and gapping the rest of the field by a lap. As the checkers dropped, Excel EMR stayed ahead of the Village Idiots for the overall win and the win in C Superbike, the Village Idiots crossed the line in second overall and second in C Superbike. The LocoMotion team crossed the line next, taking third overall and C Superbike. Lone Star Track Days finished fourth overall and fourth in C Superbike, and the Howlie Boyz held off LSTD II for fifth overall and first in A Superbike. LSTD II rounded out the top six overall.

For a complete list of the weekend results and standings, please visit the website: The next round in the CMRA season will be on July 4-6, 2014, at the Motorsport Ranch, Cresson, Texas. Saturday will be the Mini and Lightweight sprints, Team 60, and 6 hour Lightweight Endurance races. Details for the weekend will be announced when finalized. Come out and see some great endurance racing action!

Share and Enjoy !

0 0 0