Village Idiots Repeat As CMRA Champions

{fshare id=5701}

The Village Idiots team of Brandon Cleland, Chris Headley, John Orchard, and Garet Tomlinson grabbed the win in C Superbike, the overall win, and sealed the CMRA Championship Endurance Number 1 Plate for the third year in a row this past Saturday, November 1, at Texas World Speedway during CMRA’s final round of the 2014 season.

CMRA held its 10th round of the season on Saturday with a 2-Hour Lightweight Endurance, Mini & Lightweight Sprints, and a 4-Hour Championship Endurance, bringing over 10 hours of racing action to Texas World Speedway in College Station, Texas. The weather was sunny and cool, with temperatures in the70’s, making for fast lap times on both the 1.8 and 2.9-mile courses.

The Mini and Lightweight Sprint grids ran first on the 1.8 mile course, kicking off Saturday’s action, with Formula 4 and E Superstock having 24 entries each. The 481Motos-sponsored Grom Challenge class had 15 happy Groms on the grid..

The 2-Hour Lightweight Endurance had a combined grid of 31 teams and also

ran on the 1.8 mile course, with the classes Road & Track Suspension – 500 SuperSport, Fastline Motorcycle School – 300 SuperSport, 500 Classic, Road & Track Suspension – E Superstock, and Formula 4 Endurance represented.

The Kansas City, Missouri Howlie Weenie team of Dean Thimjon and Jason Swam got the lead on their Honda CBR500RR and were able to hold off both Unobtanium Racing on a Kawasaki EX300 and the Kawasaki EX500 mounted Faltess Racing team for the overall win and the win in 500 Supersport with 63 laps. The Unobtanium Racing team of Sloan Essman, Braeden Ortt, John Redford, Eddie Thornton, and Gavin Williams finished second overall and first in 300 SuperSport with 63 laps. The Faltess Racing team of Robert Bradlaw, Danny Dominguez, Bill Erzal, Eric Falt, and Ted Phillips came in third overall and first in 500 Classic with 63 laps.

The 4-Hour Championship Endurance had a combined grid of 28 teams with the classes A Superbike, C Superbike, Formula 2, and Modern Classic Endurance represented.

The lights went out and the Village Idiots, aboard a Dunlop-shod Yamaha YZF-R6 were off to the early lead, with the Pirelli-shod, Suzuki GSX-R1000 mounted, I Like Big Gas!! team of Scott Buckley, Dewayne Davis, Brad Kelly, Craig Montgomery, and Brandon Young hot on their heels in second. These two teams held off all comers for the next 4 hours, with I Like Big Gas!! turning the fastest lap of the race on lap 64, a 1:46.749. The Village Idiots ran a fastest lap of 1:46.890, but held onto their lead. The Excel EMR team of Shannon Ball, Conner Blevins, James Camacho Jr, Dustin Meador, and Jay Newton, aboard a Kawasaki ZX636, wrestled the Suzuki GSX-R750 mounted Desert Rats Racing team and the Suzuki GSX-R1000 team of Just Can’t Quit Racing for third. When the checkers dropped at 6:01 pm, the Village Idiots took both the overall win and first in C Superbike, I Like Big Gas!! crossed the line in second overall and first in A Superbike, and Excel EMR finished third overall and second in C Superbike.

For a complete list of results and standings, please visit the website:

Share and Enjoy !