CMRA Results From Motorsport Ranch

{fshare id=5323}

The Heavyweight team of Eddie Thornton/Derek Wagnon brought home the win in the Central Motorcycle Roadracing Association’s (CMRA) Round Two Team 60 race, while the Super Awesome Machine team of Brandon Altmeyer, Jesse Davis, Alan Phillips, and David Tiede grabbed the win in Road & Track Suspension – 500 SuperSport and the overall win for Lightweight Endurance Round Three this past Saturday, July 5.

CMRA held its sixth round of the season on Saturday with a 6-Hour Lightweight Endurance, Mini & Lightweight Sprints, and the Team 60 race, bringing over 10 hours of racing action to Motorsport Ranch in Cresson, Texas. The weather was sunny and humid, with temperatures in the high 90’s, with a heat index of 105 degrees but lap times were still fast on the 1.7-mile course.

The Mini and Lightweight Sprint grids ran first, kicking off Saturday’s action, with Formula 4 and E Superstock having over 20 entries each. The new 481Motos-sponsored Grom Challenge class continued to grow with 13 grid entries as well.

The 6-Hour Lightweight Endurance had a combined grid of 29 teams with the classes Road & Track Suspension – 500 SuperSport, Fastline Motorcycle School – 300 SuperSport, 500 Classic, Road & Track

Suspension – E Superstock, and Formula 4 Endurance represented.

When the start lights went out the Super Awesome Machine team immediately grabbed the early lead on their Honda CBR500R, with the Kawasaki EX300 Forza Monica team of Mark Andrews, Ryan Andrews, Lissa Deeter, Jude Monica and Les Murphy hot on their heels. Super Awesome Machine held down the top spot for the entire six hours, while Forza Monica had a lowside, costing them precious laps while they re-teched and returned to the race. That window of opportunity allowed the Kawasaki 250R mounted Desert Brats Racing team of Zachary Boldwyn, Rick Hogge, and Brad Thomas and Numb Ninja Nuts team of Jeff Hughes, Ryan Max Johnson, Clayton Schutz, Eric Williams, and Mark Windham to slip into second and third overall. Super Awesome Machine stretched their lead to one lap, taking the checkers for the overall endurance and 500 SuperSport win with an impressive 231 laps. Desert Brats Racing finished second overall and first in E Superstock with 230 laps. Numb Ninja Nuts took third overall and second in E Superstock with 229 laps.

Team 60 was the final race of the day. The 60-minute timed race consisted of two rider teams, competing on their own bike, riding 20-35 minutes each and making a mandatory transponder swap pit stop under “dead engine” conditions, with the classes of Heavyweight, Middleweight, and Lightweight. Thirty teams gridded up to do a Le Mans-style start. When the lights went out, the first leg riders sprinted from the infield across the track to their motorcycles being held by a crew member. As the riders started the motorcycles and pulled into the race line the crowd was on their feet cheering the amazingly clean rolling start.

The racing was close, with the Eddie Thornton/Derek Wagnon team battling for the lead with the Ty Howard/Brandon Young and Joseph Caruso/Dewayne Davis teams. Eddie Thornton aboard his BMW S1000RR had his hands full with Brandon Young and Dewayne Davis, both riding Suzuki GSX-R1000’s.

As the first pit stops were made, the team strategies became apparent, and the speed of the pit stops made a difference. Derek Wagnon took the lead on his KTM RC8, as Craig Montgomery, also aboard a KTM RC8, substituted for an injured Ty Howard, picked up pursuit of Wagnon. Davis handed off to BMW S1000RR Joseph Caruso, now running third overall. As the checkers dropped at 6:30 p.m. Derek Wagnon took the overall and Heavyweight win for his team, with Craig Montgomery in second overall and first in Heavyweight for his team. Joseph Caruso held onto third overall and third in Heavyweight.

For a complete list of results and standings, please visit the website: The next CMRA Mini and Lightweight Sprints, Team 60 and Lightweight Endurance round will be held on Saturday, July 26, 2014, at Texas World Speedway in College Station, Texas.

Share and Enjoy !