Duggan Wins National Quarterback Award

FORT WORTH, Texas (Dec. 8, 2022) – TCU senior Max Duggan has been named the 2022 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner. He is the first Horned Frog to win the nation’s oldest and most prestigious quarterback trophy which is named after the former TCU star.

DALLAS, TX – SEPTEMBER 24: TCU Horned Frogs quarterback Max Duggan (15) rolls out to pass during the game between SMU and TCU on September 24, 2022 at Gerald J Ford Stadium in Dallas, TX. (Photo by George Walker/Icon Sportswire)

Including Duggan, over the past 15 years, Davey O’Brien Award winners’ teams have combined for an overall record of 188-16 (.922). He is the ninth straight recipient to lead his team to the College Football Playoffs and is looking to become the fourth in that group to ultimately claim a national championship.

Duggan has steered the Horned Frogs to a 12-1 record and the No. 3 seed in the College Football Playoff. On the year, he completed 239 of 368 passes (64.9 percent) for 3,321 yards with 30 touchdowns against four interceptions. In addition, he rushed 112 times for 404 yards and six touchdowns.

The Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year and unanimous first-team all-conference selection ranks seventh in yards per pass attempt (9.0), ninth in the nation in in passing efficiency (165.5) and tied for ninth in points responsible for (218). In addition, he is 12th in passing touchdowns (30), 16th in passing yards (3,321) and 25th in total offense (286.5).

In 2022, the 6-foot-2, 210-pound signal caller has directed one of the nation’s most prolific offenses. TCU ranks sixth in the NCAA in scoring offense (40.3 points per game) and 16th in total offense (473.0 yards per game).

On Wednesday, Duggan also was presented the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Additionally, he is a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Player of the Year Awards.

Ohio State junior C.J. Stroud and USC sophomore Caleb Williams were award finalists alongside Duggan. Ballots were distributed following the completion of the finalists’ championship games on Saturday and voting closed on Sunday morning. Seventy total ballots were tabulated from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which includes select media members, college football experts and former winners. Committee members ranked each player (1st, 2nd, 3rd) on their ballot. Three bonus ballots from the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote were added based on social media fan votes recorded on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Duggan claimed the first-place votes on each platform.

Duggan was named the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner live on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. He will be honored in person at the 46th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner at the Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas, on Monday, Feb. 20.

Share and Enjoy !

Tags:, , ,