FC Dallas Makes Roster Moves

{fshare id=5808}

FRISCO, Texas (Tuesday, Dec. 2) – FC Dallas has re-signed goalkeeper Chris Seitz, declined the options on 10 contracts for the 2015 season and exercised the contract options on 11 others, the club announced today.

Coming off his eighth and best season in MLS, Seitz re-signed with FC Dallas after an 8-4-4 season that included two clean sheets. Seitz recorded a third shutout in a 0-0 draw with Seattle Sounders FC in MLS Cup Playoffs. He finished the regular season with a goals against average of 1.45 and 44 saves. Seitz returns to FC Dallas along with newly signed MLS veteran goalkeeper Dan Kennedy and Mexican youth national team product Jesse Gonzalez.

Jamaican international Je-Vaughn Watson was extended a bona fide offer by FC Dallas, which allows the club to retain the player’s MLS rights.

The 2015 contracts options for Jair Benitez, Walter Cabrera, Andres Escobar, Raul Fernandez, George John, Peter Luccin, Adam Moffat, Hendry Thomas, Jonathan Top and Nick Walker were declined.

FC Dallas can still negotiate new contracts with players who had their 2015 options declined.

FC Dallas will exercise the 2015 contract options of recently

crowned MLS AT&T Rookie of the Year Tesho Akindele, Fabian Castillo, Gonzalez, Moises Hernandez, Ryan Hollingshead, Stephen Keel, Kennedy, Michel, Blas Perez, Brian Span and Victor Ulloa.

Those players join with Kellyn Acosta, Coy Craft, Mauro Diaz, Danny Garcia, Matt Hedges, Zach Loyd, David Texeira, Alejandro Zendejas and Walker Zimmerman to form two-thirds of FC Dallas’ 2015 roster.

FC Dallas can protect 11 players ahead of the MLS Expansion Draft, which is scheduled for Wednesday, Dec. 10. Zimmerman is automatically protected due to his Generation adidas status. Homegrown players Acosta, Craft, Garcia, Gonzalez, Hernandez, Ulloa and Zendejas are also protected automatically.

Share and Enjoy !