Fine Named C-USA Offensive Player of the Year

via University of North Texas

IRVING – Sophomore Mason Fine was named Conference USA Offensive Player of the Year as determined by the league’s 14 head coaches, the league office announced Wednesday.

Denton, TX - November 18: North Texas quarterback Mason Fine (6) during the game between the North Texas Mean Green and Army West Point Black Knights (Photo by Mark Woods/DFWsportsonline)Fine, who was named first-team all-conference Tuesday, is the first North Texas player to win the award since Jamario Thomas in 2004 in the Sun Belt Conference. Fine is the first North Texas quarterback to be named offensive player of the year since Scott Davis in 1988 in the Southland Conference.

Redshirt sophomore receiver Jalen Guyton was also named the conference’s co-Newcomer of the Year with Louisiana Tech receiver Teddy Veal.

Fine, who leads C-USA’s second-ranked offense, has completed 64.3 percent of his passes, for single-season school records of 3,749 yards and 28 touchdowns. Seventeen of his 28 touchdowns were for 20 yards or more and 10 were for 40 yards or more. He leads C-USA in touchdown passes (12th nationally) and passing efficiency (147.77) and is second in passing yardage (ninth nationally), passing yardage per game (288.4, 17th nationally).

Guyton had a breakout year for the Mean Green, his first in Denton. He leads the team and ranks second in the conference in touchdown receptions with nine, good for 20th best in the nation. He hauled in 48 passes for a team-high 764 yards, averaging 15.9 yards per catch. He has 17 catches of 20 or more yards, which also leads the team. Guyton had one of the best single-game performances in the conference when he caught 14 balls for 211 yards and a score in the win at Southern Miss on Sept. 30.

Tickets to the R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl are on sale now through the North Texas Ticket Office, and ticket information is available at