Northern Texas PGA Announces Section Award Winners, Glanton Named Golf Professional of the Year

Each year the Northern Texas PGA recognizes its members and others in the golf community through the Northern Texas PGA Awards Program. On behalf of the Northern Texas PGA Awards Committee and Past Presidents of the Section, it is our pleasure to announce the 2019 Section Award Winners.

PGA Member Award Categories

• Golf Professional of the Year Award – Ronny Glanton, Sherrill Park Golf Course


• Assistant Golf Professional of the Year Award– Eric Hunt, Grapevine Golf Course


• Distinguished Service Award – Kim J. Brown (1953 – 2004)


• Teacher of the Year Award – Rick Woodson, Sherrill Park Golf Course

• Randy Smith Youth Player Development Award – Jack Daneshmand, Four Seasons Resort & Club


• PGA Player Development Award (Growth of the Game) – Leah Berst, The Golf Institute


• Patriot Award – Dick Goetz, PGA Life Member


• Bill Strausbaugh Award (Club Relations, Employment and Mentoring) – Abe Hernandez, Royal Oaks Country Club


• Horton Smith Award (Education / Building the Image of a PGA Professional) – Lee Rhind, Midland Country Club


• Merchandiser of the Year Award – Private Category – Bryan Nicholson, Northwood Club


• Merchandiser of the Year Award – Public / Resort Category – Tommy Darland, Andrews County Golf Course

• NTPGA Woman Player of the Year – Trish Holt, Stonebriar Country Club


• Yamaha Golf-Car Company & Srixon / Cleveland Golf / XXIO Player of the Year – Matt Lohmeyer, GolfTEC – Montgomery Plaza, Fort Worth


•  Ben Hogan / NTPGA Stroke Play Average Award – Matt Lohmeyer, GolfTEC – Montgomery Plaza & Cameron Doan, Preston Trail Golf Club


• OMEGA & XXIO Senior Points Challenge Winner – Stuart Hendley, Dallas Athletic Club


Non-PGA Member Award Categories


• Bob Galt Award (Media) – Joe Trahan, WFAA

• Byron Nelson Award (Amateur) – Jerry J. Ransom, Greenville, TX


• Leon Faucett Award (Sales Representative) – Karl Altheide, PGA, AHEAD


• Golf Course Superintendent Award – Mike Plummer, Lakewood Country Club


The Awards Committee consists of Committee Chair, Courtney Connell and PGA Committee Members, James Bates, Eric Hunt, Casey Renner, Jason Aguirre, Craig Brown, Tim Cusick, Keith Harris, Scott McClinton, Mike McDonald, Ryan Miller, David Sotelo and Erik Wait.


The President’s Dinner is scheduled for Sunday, February 9, 2020.