TCU Wins Poinsettia Bowl

{fshare id=2018}

The TCU Horned Frogs won the Poinsettia Bowl for the third time with a 31-24 victory over Louisiana Tech.  TCU improved to 7-4 in bowl games under head coach Gary Patterson and 9-4 with him on the Horned Frog coaching staff. Prior to his arrival in 1998 as defensive coordinator, TCU had four bowl wins in its history.

Wide receiver Skye Dawson and cornerback Greg McCoy were selected as the Poinsettia Bowl Offensive and Defensive Most Valuable Players. Dawson had four receptions for 85 yards, including a 42-yard touchdown catch from Casey Pachall for the game’s go-ahead points with 4:26 remaining. McCoy’s second-quarter interception set up an Ed Wesley 7-yard scoring run to tie the game at 10 late in the second quarter.

Casey Pachall, who completed 15-of-29 passes for 206 yards and a touchdown, broke Andy Dalton’s single-season TCU records for completions (228) and yards (2,921). Dalton had 222 completions in 2007 and 2,857 yards passing last season.

Josh Boyce had a team-best five receptions for 66 yards, giving him 998 receiving yards on the season. He missed by two yards of becoming just the second TCUplayer to reach 1,000 yards in a campaign. His 998 yards is second on TCU’s all-time season list, trailing only Reggie Harrell (1,012, 2003).

The TCU running game was led by Ed Wesley, who had 77 rushing yards on 16 carries.  The load was shared by James Wayman, with 51 yards on 14 carries and Matthew Tucker, who had 18 yards on 7 carries.  

Head Coach Gary Patterson tied Dutch Meyer as TCU’s all-time winningest coach with his 109th victory. Patterson’s ledger now stands at 109-30 (.784), fourth-best among active coaches nationally. Meyer was 109-79-13 from 1934-52, including national championships in 1935 and 1938.

This was TCU’s final game representing the Mountain West. The Horned Frogs begin play next season in the Big 12.