Cowboys To Place 3 In Ring of Honor

The Dallas Cowboys today announced three new inductees to their famed Ring of Honor.  Drew Pearson, Larry Allen, and Charles Haley will be inducted at halftime of the November 6th game against Seattle.

Cowboys fans have been saying for years that Pearson should be in the ring.  Pearson played 11 seasons with Dallas, and was a key figure in many of the most memorable plays in team history.  Pearson will forever be remembered in NFL history as the recipient of the “Hail Mary” pass from Roger Staubach against the Minnesota Vikings in the 1975 playoffs.  Pearson was known as a “playmaker” in Dallas long before another #88 made the term famous.  Finally, nearly 30 years after his playing days ended, Pearson will again hear the roar of the Dallas crowd.

Larry Allen played 12 seasons with the Cowboys, making the Pro Bowl in 11 of them.  Allen was most famous for his strength, capable of bench-pressing 700 pounds, but it was his on-field contributions that really set him apart.  Allen played every position on the line except center.  Allen made the blocks that kept Troy Aikman on his feet and propelled Emmitt Smith to the league’s all-time rushing record.

Charles Haley was a surprise selection.  Playing only 5 seasons with the Cowboys, Haley is the shortest-tenured player in the Ring of Honor.  What he lacked in team longevity, he made up for in importance.  Haley was the final piece of the puzzle that gave the Cowboys 3 Super Bowl victories in 4 years.

Jerry Jones has been careful to preserve the tradition of the Ring, and his selection of these players certainly adds to that legacy.

Share and Enjoy !

0 0 0