Defending Champion Rory Sabbatini Headlines Early HPBNC Commitments

Irving, Texas, Mar. 4, 2010 – 2009 Champion Rory Sabbatini has officially committed to play in the 2010 HP Byron Nelson Championship.



Last year, en route to a two-shot victory, Sabbatini broke the Championship’s record with a 261 (-19). He finished second in the 2010 SBS Championship and is currently No. 18 in the race for the FedExCup.


Though the HP Byron Nelson is more than two months away, tournament officials have received several notable early commitments.





The Championship expects six of the nine players who have won on the TOUR this year to play, including Ryan Palmer, Hunter Mahan, Dustin Johnson and Ben Crane, among others.


Several promising young TOUR players have committed to the Nelson, including Ricky Barnes, Charley Hoffman, Sean O’Hair and TOUR rookie 21-year old Rickie Fowler. Fowler, who has played six events in 2010, has already claimed two top ten finishes, including second place in the recent Waste Management Phoenix Open, where he lost to Mahan by just one stroke, for a final score of 269 (-15).


HP Byron Nelson veterans Scott Verplank and Justin Leonard have also committed to play in the 2010 Championship. Verplank, 2007 Champion, will be seeking another victory in his 24th appearance. This will be Leonard’s 17th Nelson appearance, with his best finish T6 in 2001.


The 2010 HP Byron Nelson Championship will be played May 17-23 at the TPC Four Seasons Resort and Club Las Colinas in Irving.


About the HP Byron Nelson Championship

The HP Byron Nelson Championship has been a premier event on the PGA TOUR since 1968. Dallas’ biggest sports attraction and most anticipated social event of the spring is also the most financially successful charity event on the PGA TOUR, raising over $112 million for children and families served by Salesmanship Club Youth and Family Centers. Join the great time in 2010 – May 17-23 at the Four Seasons Resort Las Colinas in Irving, Texas. A Great Time. A Greater Cause. Learn more at

Share and Enjoy !

0 0 0