Jerry Jones Announces Jimmy Johnson To Be Enshrined In Dallas Cowboys Ring Of Honor

Jimmy Johnson will be inducted into the Dallas Cowboys Ring of Honor on Dec. 30, 2023 (Photo courtesy of FOX Sports)

Dallas Cowboys Owner, President and General Manager Jerry Jones announced the induction of Jimmy Johnson to the club’s storied Ring of Honor on Sunday. Johnson will become the 24th Dallas Cowboy to be enshrined in the Ring of Honor in a celebration at halftime of the Dec. 30 game at AT&T Stadium against Detroit.

Johnson, who was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Aug. 7, 2021, was named the first Cowboys head coach under then new owner Jerry Jones in 1989.

In five seasons with the Cowboys, Johnson guided the team to two Super Bowl championships.

In his first season in Dallas, Johnson’s team finished 1-15, then 7-9 in 1990 before making a return to the playoffs with an 11-5 finish in 1991.

Johnson was named NFL Coach of the Year by the Associated Pres following the 1990 season. Johnson’s 1992 team finished with a franchise-record 13 wins en route to the NFC Conference Championship and subsequent return to the Super Bowl, capping the season with a 52-17 win over the Bills in Super Bowl XXVII.

The following season, Dallas returned to the Super Bowl, after ending the year with a 12-4 record, earning a rematch with the Bills in Super Bowl XXVIII. Dallas won it’s fourth championship, handing Buffalo a 30-13 loss.

Johnson compiled a 44-36 regular season record (.550 winning percentage) and a 7-1 postseason mark with the Cowboys.

He coached 10 Pro Bowlers who earned a combined 22 Pro Bowls in his five seasons with the club.

Five of his players became Hall of Famers following their careers: Troy Aikman, Larry Allen, Charles Haley, Michael Irvin and Emmitt Smith.

Dallas Cowboys Ring of Honor Members (year enshrined)

Troy Aikman (2005)*

Larry Allen (2011)*

Gil Brandt (2018)*

Tony Dorsett (1994)*

Charles Haley (2011)*

Cliff Harris (2004)*

Bob Hayes (2001)*

Chuck Howley (1977)*

Michael Irvin (2005)*

Jimmy Johnson (2023)*

Lee Roy Jordan (1989)

Tom Landry (1993)*

Bob Lilly (1975)*

Don Meredith (1976)

Drew Pearson (2011)*

Don Perkins (1976) 

Mel Renfro (1981)*

Tex Schramm (2003)*

Emmitt Smith (2005)*

Roger Staubach (1983)*

DeMarcus Ware (2023)*

Randy White (1994)*

Darren Woodson (2015)

Rayfield Wright (2004)*

Share and Enjoy !