Mcllroy Wins PGA Championship

{fshare id=2901}

Rory Mcllroy won the PGA Championship at The Ocean Course on Kiawah Island Golf Resort, SC by 8 strokes over David Lynn.  McIlroy turned a three shot lead after 54 holes into an eight shot rout with a bogey-free 66 in the final round. McIlroy’s eight shot win is the largest in PGA Championship history, breaking Jack Nicklaus’ seven shot win in 1980. With the win, McIlroy joins Tiger Woods as the only two active players under age 40 with multiple major wins.

Mcllroy collects 600 points and moves to No. 2 in FedExCup standings. Tiger Woods continues to lead the FedExCup standings. The top 125 players in the FedExCup point’s standings following next weeks Wyndham Championship will qualify for The Barclays, the first event in the FedExCup Playoffs.

Mcllroy has now converted three of four and three consecutive third-round leads on TOUR. He held a four-stroke lead after 54 holes at the 2011 Masters before eventually finishing T15 following a final-round 80. Two months later he was eight strokes ahead after

54 holes at the 2011 U.S. Open and went on to an eight-stroke win. This year he led the Honda Classic by two strokes and won by two over Tiger Woods and Tom Gillis. McIlroy led by four shots entering the final round of the PGA Championship.

David Lynn, from Trentham, England, finished second in only his second career start in a PGA TOUR event. His only other start was a T53 at the 2003 British Open.

Lynn’s only win on the European Tour came at the 2004 KLM Open.

By finishing in the top four, Lynn earns an invitation to the 2013 Masters.

Ian Poulter, in third place, had five consecutive birdies (Nos. 1-5) in the final round, which is the longest streak in a major this season.

The most consecutive birdies in a major since 2003 is seven by Tiger Woods (Nos. 7-13, third round) at the 2005 Masters Tournament.

The TOUR record for consecutive birdies is nine by Mark Calcavecchia, (Nos. 12-2, second round, Glen Abbey GC) at the 2009 RBC Canadian Open.

Tiger Woods has never come-from-behind to win a major championship. He was five back to start the final round today. Woods did not break par in a weekend round at a major championship in 2012.

Woods has now gone four years without a major championship win. His last was at the 2008 U.S. Open.

Share and Enjoy !

0 0 0